On a serious note…

Our hearts, thoughts, and prayers go out to the victims, victims families, and those affected by the Aurora Movie Theater Massacre. Innocent people should never have to face that sort of fate, be it death or the tragedy they will bear on their chest for the rest of their lives. They were just hundreds of people eagerly awaiting the newest movie of their favorite super hero franchise like we all were. It was just by the grace of god that that wasn’t my movie theater. And I sat there, forcing popcorn and pizza into my over fed face, while those innocent people were forced to the ground, fleeing fire. They will never forget what happened to them on that early summer morning, July 20th, 2012. And I can’t help but to feel guilty because I’ll read the news reports, feel terrible about it, write about, pray for them tonight, but tomorrow morning I’ll wake up and watch TV and my mom will turn on the music and  in a few weeks it won’t be on our mind any more. We will move on from something that some people will never, ever be able to forget. There will not be one day where the people of Aurora won’t think about what happened early this morning. The news reports will slowly fade away and the presidential campaign will begin again and that will be that. And I’m not saying that that’s wrong or that there was anything anybody could have done to prevent what happened, but it’s sad that in a few weeks people will insist on having less regulation on firearms and that we need to focus on abortion and gay rights and blah blah blah. It just seems weird to me that we care so much about things that seem so trivial. We put so much energy into our jobs and the internet and reading and TV and escaping each other instead of reaching out and thinking about how something affects someone else.

And I feel bad and selfish for feeling bad about this. It didn’t happen to me, I shouldn’t be so effected. I guess, I just…I just realize that this could happen to any of us at any time and that I feel bad that it happened to those people. So reach out to others. See how they react to things. Lend out a hand. I don’t even know what I’m writing, I just feel awful and I don’t fully understand why. I should volunteer more. Maybe if more people volunteered the world would be a better place. Maybe we just don’t have enough time for other people.

Leave a Reply

